Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Departments & Programs



Jul 7 2015

Tony Kovscek Named to the Beal Chair

Tony Kovscek Tony Kovscek has been appointed to the Keleen and Carlton Beal Professorship. This honor is much deserved--previous holders of the Beal Professorship are Lynn Orr and Hank Ramey.

Jun 18 2015

Joanna Sun Receives Award

Joanna SunCongratulations to Joanna Sun who earned the 2015 Dean’s Award for Distinguished and Exemplary Service. The Dean’s Award for Distinguished and Exemplary Service recognizes outstanding contributions by individuals or teams to the School of Earth, Energy & Environmental Sciences during the past year that have gone “above and beyond” their regular assignments. Joanna was recognized for her work in creating richer and more focused orientation programs for graduate students as well as workshops. Congratulations, Joanna!

Jun 8 2015

ERE Student Awards 2015 Announced


Awards are given out each year to ERE Students in three categories. The Henry J. Ramey, Jr. Fellowship Award recognizes the most prominent research student in the department. Frank G. Miller Fellowship Award recognizes the top student each quarter in course performance. It is awarded three times each year to a student selected on grade performance and research productivity from the preceding quarter. The William H. Brigham Memorial Award recognizes a student, or a staff member, who contributes their time generously to improve the lives of others. It is an award for department citizenship.

Upcoming Events

Aug 17

Modern Well Test Analysis (Aug 17-19, 2015)

8:30 AM
Energy Resources Engineering
Aug 24

Thermal Recovery Summer Short Course (August 24-27, 2015)

8:30 AM
Energy Resources Engineering
Sep 28

Tony Receives Uren Award

The Society of Petroleum Engineers President (Helge Hove Haldorsen) will present the Lester C. Uren Award to Tony on Tuesday evening, 29 September 2015 at the Society’s Annual Technical Conference and Exhibition (ATCE) in Houston, Texas.

The SPE Lester C. Uren Award recognizes distinguished achievement in the technology of petroleum engineering. Recipients of this award automatically become Distinguished Members. Congratulations, Tony!